top of page

SERVICE AT CORNWALL SCHOOL


On February 20, 2016, I went with the REDbird community to visit the Cornwall school, an institute for the physically and mentally challenged. When we arrived there, we were quickly introduced to the different causes and severities of the physical and mental illness, and we were also taught first how to make sure their wheelchairs should be handled. They sat in wheelchairs the whole time, even with happy smiles on their faces. Although they were constrained, in themselves they had freedom. It was a touching experience to see their condition, and how it affected them. I took care of one of the boys named Ho-ho. He seemed happy that he was going out of his room when I was bringing him out. It was difficult for me to communicate with him. He tried to look at me at times, turning his eyes but not his head, I was not sure if he was trying to acknowledge me, if he was happy or not, but I knew that he is somewhat aware of me. He kept pushing his head forward, moving about his whole wheelchair, and trying to go forward. When we were all situated in a circle with all the other kids, he remained active. With a passion, I put my effort to being energetic as he was, and to try to understand him, and to let him enjoy the time around us volunteers. Although he did not participate well in the games the way we intended all the kids to, he still was energetic and actively playful, always in his mind he was free. It was a humbling experience for me. It was a time that I really had to put myself in their shoes and try to experience what they feel. I had to pay the utmost attention to their feelings and their needs. It was difficult to realize what these people go through and may not even notice, but still do their best to survive and enjoy their life. I recall in the early morning of that day when I was in transit to the school with some of my friends. They were mostly discussing the necessity of appearance, yet after the service, we were all silent, and deeply touched by the conditions of the children we had just been in touch with. Appearance was not as important as the smaller things in life that we can enjoy. I believe we were all humbled and had sympathy for these children, and that we were all inspired by them to be of service to the community even more.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page