top of page

COACHING COMMUNITY INDUCTION

Understanding the Role of Community

This afternoon, I joined the first day of the REDbird Coaching Induction. We were first asked why we had a community? Or what is a community anyways? At first it seemed obvious what a community was, since we live in multiple communities that uphold different common aspects. Yet, from the coaching session today, I learnt that various aspects such as networking, friendship, activeness, and interaction play important roles in the development of the community. I also learnt that really it is up to us, with our own determination, motivation, and initiative, to help the community grow through the growth of friendship and activeness. Indeed, through the coaching I have met several new friends and through the course of the REDbird second year, I believe we will move closer and become a better community in the process. Also, I am deeply inspired by the concept of hard work, diligence, and perseverance that was discussed in the coaching session. The idea that Picasso took many years to learn and perfect his work and create new art in mere minutes, that Michael Jordan strove to achieve success through many mistakes, failures, and practices, and another one I know of, which is a quote by the Olympic Sprinter, Jesse Owens, "A lifetime of training for just 10 seconds." In our exploration of our passions and identity in our first few years of University, it is clear to me that it is important to focus and develop, work hard, and never give up on what I find to be my own art or niche, which I find to be my goal of becoming a civil engineer, and through continued practice of long distance running.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page